Browse meetings

Executive Cabinet app available
View upcoming public committee documents on your iPad, Android Device or Blackberry Playbook with the free app.


Information about Executive Cabinet

The procedures for decisions to be taken in emergency situations can be found by clicking here.


The Executive Cabinet is responsible for most of the Council's functions, which by law or under the Council's Constitution are not the responsibility of any other part of the Council's organisation, whether the full Council itself, other Committees / Sub Committees of the Council or a Chief Officer. Forthcoming major decisions are published in the Notice of Executive Decisions.  The Executive Cabinet is made up of the Executive Leader, Deputy Leader and four Executive Members with the following portfolios:


Councillor Alistair Bradley – Executive Member for Economic Development and Public Service Reform

Lead Director:  Chris Sinnott / Vacancy


·   Asset Management

·   Business support and inward investment

·   Major Projects and Developments

·   Wholly owned companies

·   Town Centre (including Market Walk and car parking)

·   Public Service Reform (including combined authority and shared services development) · Local Plan


Councillor Peter Wilson – Executive Member for Resources

Lead Director:  Chris Sinnott / Louise Mattinson / Chris Moister / Vicky Willett


·       Finance

·       Corporate Strategy and improvement

·       Transformation

·       Communications and events

·       Support services

·       Astley Hall and Cultural Assets


Councillor Bev Murray – Executive Member for Early Intervention

Lead Director:  Jennifer Mullin


·  Volunteering and VCFS

·  Community Centre Management

·       Neighbourhood working and community development

·  Community safety

·  Environmental Health

·       Employment and Skills

·  Leisure Centres contract

·  Social Prescribing


Councillor Terry Howarth – Executive Member for Homes and Housing

Lead Director:  Jennifer Mullin / Vacancy


·         Housing options, advice and supported housing

·         Home improvement service

·         Private sector housing

·         Council Residential Accommodation incl. Primrose Gardens

·         Housing Strategy


Councillor Alistair Morwood – Executive Member for Planning and Development

Lead Director: Vacancy


·         Planning

·         Enforcement, including Building Control, Licensing, Empty Properties and Environmental Enforcement

·         Parks and Open Spaces development


Councillor Margaret France - Executive Member for Health, Wellbeing & Partnerships

·       Lead Director: Vicky Willett

·       Health & Wellbeing

·       Liaison with Health Care Service Providers, incl ICS

·       Partnership Working

·       Lead Role for developing sub-regional partnership


Councillor Adrian Lowe – Executive Member for Customer, Streetscene and Environment

Lead Director: Asim Khan


·         Street Cleansing

·         Grounds Maintenance

·         Streetscene Improvements

·         ICT

·         Customer Services

·         Revenues and Benefits

·         Waste collection

·         Climate Change


The Leader chairs the Cabinet and has overall political responsibility for achieving the Council’s objectives. He represents the Council in the community and on important public bodies e.g. Local Government Association and acts as the Council’s primary spokesperson. Executive Members meet on an individual basis with the appropriate chief officers to consider reports on service-related issues and to take decisions.